Sometimes I’m overwhelmed by the richness of the Word. I lingered today in chapter 11 and again in parts of chapter 12, reading slowly, re-reading, soaking it in.

Hebrews 11 is unofficially known as the Faith chapter, and rightly so. This morning when I read it, I was struck by the large gap between my faith and those listed there. Phrases stood out:

Abel…a righteous man
Enoch…pleased God
Noah…in holy fear built an ark
Abraham…considered him faithful who had made the promise
Moses…chose to be mistreated

There are too many sword thrills to list!

Today, I came away greatly encouraged. I am surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses. If they can live by faith, I can live by faith. The examples, the testimonies of their lives, are there for my benefit. They were not extraordinary men. They were ordinary men who believed in an extraordinary God. They persevered.

Lord, help me too, to “fix my eyes on Jesus“.